Introducing The Scott Silbert Big Band: Jump Children

Smithsonian Masterworks Orchestra saxophonist and arranger presents a set of irresistible foot-tapping swing


The little-known multi-instrumentalist Scott Silbert is currently the lead tenor and arranger for the prestigious Smithsonian Masterworks Orchestra. A keen student of the music, he has presented lectures and concerts dedicated to Johnny Hodges, Artie Shaw, Lester Young, Charlie Parker and Benny Goodman. An active clinician, he has also studied with Manny Albam, Phil Woods and Jerry Kalbar.

For his first recording as a leader he has taken a nostalgic and very loving look at material associated with the swing and jump bands of the 30s and 40s when the Lindy Hop and boogie-woogie were king. The Sweethearts Of Rhythm, Jimmie Lunceford, Louis Jordan, Benny Goodman, Harry James, Count Basie and Erskine Hawkins, who are all saluted here, would have had discs on the nation’s juke-boxes when jazz was the popular music of the day.

Each chart is replete with the irresistible foot-tapping swing associated with the period and the band benefits from some outstanding soloists. The leader on Edna, Down For Double and Shipyard Ramble has clearly listened to Flip Phillips. Grant Langford, who has recorded with Ray Charles and Count Basie, is the other tenor soloist and he impresses with his Georgie Auld approach on Jump Children, Tootsie’s Rag and Lullaby In Rhythm.

Baritone player Leigh Pilzer, who has been with the Diva Jazz Orchestra since 2001, gets a rich Ernie Caceres-like sound from her big horn on Jumpin’ Punkins, Shipyard Ramble and Chloe. Special mention should be made of Charlie Young on alto who leads the section quite brilliantly throughout, especially on a swiftly articulated soli chorus on Stompin’ At The Savoy.

Jump Children; Annie Laurie; In A Persian Market; Jumpin’ Punkins; Edna; Tootsie’s Rag; I Want A Roof; Dusk; Lullaby In Rhythm; 11.60 P.M.; Down For Double; Chloe; Shipyard Ramble; She’s Crazy With The Heat; Stompin’ At The Savoy (48.03)
Liesl Whitaker, Joshua Kauffman, Chris Walker (t); Dave Perkel, Jen Krupa, Kirsten Warfield (tb); Charlie Young, Antonio Parker (as); Silbert ( ts, cl, v); Grant Langford (ts); Leigh Pilzer (bar); Tony Nalker (p); Craig Gildner (elg); Amy Shook (b); Ken Kimery (d); Gretchen Midgley (v). Washington D.C., 23 May 2021.