Kenny Barron, Dave Holland: Without Deception

Two old friends, Philadelphian post-bop pianist Kenny Barron and virtuoso British bassist Dave Holland recorded their splendid duo album The Art Of Conversation in 2014. As critic Shaun Brady observed, its 10 tracks “showcase the profound mastery of two artists who share an easy rapport and elegantly restrained expressiveness”. This new release is equally good (if not better), and benefits from the addition of the remarkable young drummer (and fellow Philadelphia
Want to read the whole thing? Become a Jazz Journal donor or, if you are already registered, log in. Player, label or promoter? See full review and make it visible to all by supplying a RevLink for this title.
Reviewer reaction
Previous articleCherise: Paradise EP
Next articleAntônio Carlos Jobim: Wave