Jazz FM Awards nominees announced


British radio station Jazz FM has announced the nominations for its 2019 awards, the winners of which will be announced at Shoreditch Town Hall, London on 30 April, to coincide with International Jazz Day.

The organisers say the awards recognise the “best emerging new artists, contemporary icons and established stars from across the worlds of jazz, soul and blues”. Performances from a “host of celebrated artists” are promised for the awards night, which will be hosted by DJs Chris Philips and Jez Nelson.

Public voting (where applicable, see below) is open now at jazzfmawards.com and will close on Monday, 12 March 2019.

The nominees are:

Breakthrough Act
Cassie Kinoshi
Emma-Jean Thackray
Sarah Tandy

The Digital Award with Oanda
Blue Lab Beats
Louis Cole
Moses Boyd – 1Xtra Residency

The Innovation Award with Mishcon de Reya
Orphy Robinson – Freedom Sessions at Vortex
Steam Down
Tomorrow’s Warriors

Instrumentalist of the Year
Camilla George
Jean Toussaint
Rob Luft

International Jazz Act of the Year with Lateralize
Jamie Branch
Makaya McCraven
Wayne Shorter

Soul Act of the Year
José James
Leon Bridges
Poppy Ajudha

Blues Act of the Year
Eric Bibb
Errol Linton
Roosevelt Collier

Vocalist of the Year
Cherise Adams-Burnett
Ian Shaw
Judi Jackson

UK Jazz Act of the Year (public vote) with Cambridge Audio
Jason Yarde
Joe Armon-Jones
Nubya Garcia

Album of the Year (public vote) with Arqiva
Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams – Vanished Gardens
Jean Toussaint Allstar 6Tet – Brother Raymond
John Coltrane – Both Directions at Once: The Lost Album
Sons of Kemet – Your Queen Is a Reptile
Various Artists – We Out Here
Wayne Shorter – Emanon

Live Experience of the Year (public vote)
Jason Moran: The Harlem Hellfighters – Tour
Jazz Re:Fest 2018: Brighton Edition
Makaya McCraven and Nubya Garcia – EFG London Jazz Festival
Orphy Robinson presents Van Morrison’s Astral Weeks – Tour
Steam Down featuring Kamasi Washington
The Cookers – Church of Sound

Other award categories – Impact Award, PRS Gold Award and Lifetime Achievement Award – are to be announced.