Preview: Courtney Pine, Jazz Director

Courtney Pine CBE takes to the road for a four-date north of England tour with the Inner City Ensemble, as part of the fourth Jazz Directors Series

Saxophonist and composer Courtney Pine CBE (pictured right) has been announced as the leader of the fourth edition of the Jazz Directors Series. He will set out on a short series of dates with the Inner City Ensemble in February 2018.

The Jazz Directors Series is a two-year project which matches an internationally known musician with a group of emerging UK jazz professionals. The group is known as the Inner City Ensemble. The line-up for this tour includes previous Snarky Puppy, Sons of Kemet, Pharoahe Monch and Terence Blanchard collaborators, as well as alumni of the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance and Berklee College of Music.

The musicians have been announced as:

Theon Cross – Tuba
Nathan Cross – Trombone
Chelsea Carmichael – Baritone saxophone/clarinet
David Austin Grey – Piano/keyboards
Romarna Campbell – Drums
Shirley Tetteh – Electric guitar
Alex Davies – Double bass
Courtney Pine - Saxophones

Each edition of the series combines a four-day residency, produced by Brighter Sound, with live concerts produced by Manchester venue Band On The Wall in collaboration with four independent jazz promoters across the north of England.

For this edition Band On The Wall will be collaborating with Parr Jazz, Lancaster Jazz Festival, DJ Lubi, Brighter Sound and Root Music with support from Jazz North and Arts Council England.

Previous editions of the Jazz Directors Series were led by pianist Zoe Rahman, trumpeter Terence Blanchard and saxophonist Chris Potter.

Courtney Pine's 2018 tour with the Inner City Ensemble encompasses the following dates:

22 February: Band On The Wall, Manchester
23 February: Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
24 February: The Grand, Clitheroe
25 February: Grand Theatre, Lancaster

For more information and tickets for all four dates, go to the Band On The Wall website.

Bruce Lindsay

post a comment