Preview: Chris Ingham's Dudley tour




The Chris Ingham Quartet brings Dudley Moore's music to life once again, in a series of dates across England and on new album Dudley

Pianist, composer and singer Chris Ingham (pictured right) is a long-time fan of Dudley Moore's music. He's recently released a well-received album, Dudley, with his quartet and the band has embarked on a tour to bring Moore's jazz to live audiences across England.

He makes his fondness for Moore's music clear in his profile in the forthcoming March issue of Jazz Journal. "I think Dudley might have been the first jazz musician I ever saw on TV" he said. "I remember really being moved by the jazz". As for Moore's compositions, Ingham finds them "...instantly attractive. It's the spirit, the will to swing". After trying out a set of Moore's tunes in early 2016 the Ingham quartet went on to record Dudley and are now embarking on a range of dates that will bring the music to venues across England.

In his review of Ingham’s CD Dudley (Downhome 004), also in the March issue of Jazz Journal, Garry Booth says: "Pint-size Dud became too big for jazz really: his Erroll Garner influenced jazz trio just wasn’t taken seriously by the jazz world – and maybe not even by him. Fourteen years after his death, Chris Ingham’s Quartet have rectified that poor state of affairs with an album of 16 sparkling tunes closely associated with Moore the swinging 60s trio leader and the versatile film score composer. Ingham and his group did a grand job of distilling the essence of Hoagy Carmichael in their last project. Now they have pulled it off again with Dudley, an intimate and affectionate tribute that’s very Moore-ish indeed”.

Reviewing Chris Ingham’s previous release Hoagy in Jazz Journal June 2014, Dave Gelly said: "Not only does Chris Ingham sing with the requisite easy grace, he’s a very good pianist, too, with a crisp, light touch and plenty of the right kind of swing. I shall keep this elegant production next to In Hoagland, by Georgie Fame and Annie Ross. That’s more than 30 years old now. It was about time it had a worthy successor”.

The Chris Ingham Quartet - Ingham on piano, Paul Higgs on trumpet, Geoff Gascoyne on bass and George Double on drums - play the following dates (with other bassists sitting in for Gascoyne as noted):

Wed 8 Feb - Eastleigh Concord Club
Tues 14 Feb - Guildford Electric Theatre**

Thurs 2 March - London Royal Albert Hall Elgar Room
Tues 7 March - Olney Jazz Club

Wed 8 March - Belvedere Jazz Club

Sun 12 March - Felixstowe The Alex##

Mon 10 April - London Reform Club

Tues 25 April - Southend Annie's Jazz

Thurs 27 April - Dereham Jazz Society

Fri 5 May - Southport The Atkinson
Sun 7 May - Lincoln Jazz Week

Thurs 22 June - Cambridge Jazz Club#

Sun 16 July - Ipswich Jazz Club

Sun 3 Sep - Radlett Arts Centre
Sat 23 Sep - Halesworth The New Cut Arts
Sun 24 Sep - Colchester Arts Centre
Tues 14 Nov - London Zedel


# Rev. Andrew Brown (bass)
** Marianne Windham (bass)
## Rob Palmer (bass)

For further information, visit the Chris Ingham website.

Bruce Lindsay


Relax with the luxurious print edition of Jazz Journal and enjoy more jazz news, reviews, features and debate.


post a comment